Enos Blair short stores

Louis Blair, Civil War Veteran

civilwarmon.

photo copyrighted by Jen Goellnitz (http://www.drawthesword.goellnitz.org).

Dear Rosa,

Louis was your husband’s grandfather and yours, too! How strange, really and not something anyone would want to speak of… my how times have changed.

Enos Louis Blair was born in Lacolle Canada in 1826 and emigrated in 1842. He was my great, great, great-grandfather. I discovered this summer that he’d served in the Civil War. A bit more digging yesterday and the damn of information broke free.

I’m literally swimming in all this wonderful history! How can you not love familysearch.org? The photo above commemorates the 9th Calvary, of which Enos served from Nov. 1861 – April 1863 when he was discharged due to “disability.”

And so, here is the first installment of Sue’s imagination.

Hang on, it’s gonna take flight…

*************************

September 27, 1861

Enos Louis Blair was 38 years old and living in the United States illegally. He glanced down at the document laid on the table. With this piece of velum he would be joining the Union army. He would be serving in a war that’d threatened to rip his surrogate country apart.

“Do you speak English, soldier?” The man asked as he handed him the quill.

“Non. But a little.”

“Make your mark here.” He pointed with a filthy hand. Fatigue reflected in the harsh lines on the man’s face. Behind Enos stretched hundreds who’d also heard the call and were milling about, waiting to enlist. Rouses Point, New York had been transformed almost overnight as the men continued to arrive.

“You ride? Comprende?” He made a motion like riding a horse.

“Oui.”

“Take this paper and see the Sargent in the next building. He’ll set you up with a mount.”

Enos held his hat and tried to look like he understood. When he hesitated, the man impatiently gestured to the right.

“Horse,” he said and pointed as if Enos were a child, “that way.”

He slipped on the cap on and left the crudely erected building. There was no turning back now. Not that he would. Enos had lived in New York since crossing the border in the brutal winter of 1842. He’d found hope here and something he needed more desperately as a farmer without land; he’d found work.

This was his country, though he wasn’t naturalized. He didn’t need a piece of paper to know what needed to be done. When his president called, he stepped up.

The farming could wait until the war was over.

**********************

Stayed tuned for the next chapter…. and Happy New Years, everyone!

thanks for stopping by.

Sue

8 thoughts on “Louis Blair, Civil War Veteran

    1. Thanks! It’s been an evolution of sorts. Been fitting the pieces together and out and right making up the rest of the information. Wish my gram was around so I could ask her all these questions I have.
      Hope you have a good New Year’s Eve. We’ll be having a quiet one at home.
      Sue

      1. Reading your blog is getting me interested in trying to find out more about my family. While I’m not sure I could create wonderful stories like you, it would be fun to know more about where I came from.

        Also, sometime I’d like to know more about Vermont. I visited your state once and traveled around a bit. Needless to say, I fell in love with it and hope to return someday.

        Have a happy new year, Sue … enjoy the quiet 🙂

      2. I hope you do check out your family. A great, free, easy to use website is familysearch.org. The Mormons have the largest data base in the world – you don’t even have to log in. I’ve learned so much from just this one place.
        I post snippets about Vermont at my other blog: down the mountain road. Feel free to browse and let me know if there’s anything you want posted. Right now, it’s all about the weather. 2 feet of snow is newsworthy, I suppose!
        Peace to you, too.
        Sue

  1. I am very interested to read the next installment. I love how you can take those tidbits of info and make them into a realistic story.
    Can you make some type of family tree on one of your posts so we can get a visual idea of how all of your folks fit together? You could maybe sketch it on paper, scan it, then insert it into your post. I made that sound easy, didn’t I? Such a techie thing would prob’ly take me a week.

    1. Great idea! I’ll get Mckenna right on it – she’s my techie and helped me create the bubble over Bella’s head (on my blog – down the mountain road).
      It’s so very cool that I can visit a memorial dedicated to him and his mates. Very cool, indeed.
      Thanks for swinging by, T’resa. Always nice to see your sweet comments.

Leave a Reply

