9 Comments

My Pop, practitioner of the practical…

Dear Rosa,

Your grandson, Henry, has always faced life straight on. Something works, but is a bit unorthodox? Who cares.

My dad came to visit yesterday, just thought he’d swing by for a cup o’ joe and I was so very delighted he did. At 82, it’s amazing he is still able to drive.

We had a nice visit, very pleasant really. It was as he was preparing to leave that I found out just how practical old Henry really is. Noticed some Christmas stickers on the rim of his tires.

“What’s that?” I pointed to the out-of-place bright little stickers.

Bessy, his friend, just chuckled.  “They’re on every tire.”

I moved to the next and the next and the next… yup, four tires all with Christmas stickers.

“Okay, give.”

Bessy smiled again. “It’s how your father keeps track of the tires when he rotates them.  They’re the only thing sticky enough to stay on.”

Sure they are.

You know, they make sense in a weird kind of way, kind of practical, too.

Wonder if I’ll ever be so smart?

photo(3)

9 comments on “My Pop, practitioner of the practical…

  1. How cute is that..and at age 82 he is smarter than me because I always forget how the tires need to be rotated. 🙂

  2. Who is his friend Bessy. I wanted this to be longer. I can’t quit smiling because my mom is 75 and she is always on the road too. We are very blessed indeed.

  3. OMG how ingenious is THAT!!!!

  4. Holy Crud Muffins, I am so going to use that. Please tell your dad I said thanks for the tip

Leave a Reply

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The Box a story about witchcraft, karma and what was really in Pandora's Box

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

